Home » Special Events » Magnitude 8.0 earthquake near Lata Island, Santa Cruz Islands

En Española En Français In Italiano Auf Deutsch In het Nederlands No Português In Arabic In Greek In Russian In Chinese In Japanese In Korean Share/Bookmark

last updated: 02/05/13 18:58:09 (PST)

On Tuesday February 5 2013 at 5:12 PM (PST) the USArray seismic network recorded an earthquake (preliminary M 8.0) located near Lata Island.

Initial source parameters for this tremor are indicated below. The epicentral distance (i.e. distance separating the epicenter and the closest station in the recording network, HDA) for the USArray is 9253 km (83.17 degrees).

If you felt the quake, the USGS would like to know. Please add your comments to the USGS page "Did you feel it?".

Summary

Global map view
Solution Parameters
Local Date:Tuesday February 5, 2013
Local Time: 5:12 PM PST
Universal Time:02/06/13 (037) 01:12:24 UTC
Magnitude:8.0 M
Latitude:-10.7520
Longitude:165.0890
Depth:6 km
Author:QED
Authoritative:yes
Aftershock_1
Local Date:Tuesday February 5, 2013
Local Time: 5:23 PM PST
Universal Time:02/06/13 (037) 01:23:19 UTC
Magnitude:7.1 mw
Latitude:-11.2330
Longitude:164.9210
Depth:10 km
Author:QED_weekly
Authoritative:yes
Aftershock_2
Local Date:Tuesday February 5, 2013
Local Time: 5:54 PM PST
Universal Time:02/06/13 (037) 01:54:15 UTC
Magnitude:7.0 M
Latitude:-10.4790
Longitude:165.7720
Depth:10 km
Author:QED_weekly
Authoritative:yes
Aftershock_3
Local Date:Friday February 8, 2013
Local Time: 3:12 AM PST
Universal Time:02/08/13 (039) 11:12:13 UTC
Magnitude:7.1 M
Latitude:-10.9500
Longitude:165.9350
Depth:10 km
Author:QED
Authoritative:yes
Aftershock_4
Local Date:Friday February 8, 2013
Local Time: 7:26 AM PST
Universal Time:02/08/13 (039) 15:26:40 UTC
Magnitude:7.0 M
Latitude:-10.9100
Longitude:165.9640
Depth:27 km
Author:QED
Authoritative:yes

Proximity to Population Centers for Main Event

  • 76km (47mi) W of Lata, Solomon Islands
  • 574km (357mi) NNW of Luganville, Vanuatu
  • 586km (364mi) ESE of Honiara, Solomon Islands
  • 846km (526mi) NNW of Port-Vila, Vanuatu
  • 1149km (714mi) NNW of We, New Caledonia

Maps

Mercator projection regional view

The red star denotes the earthquake epicenter. Triangle symbols are active stations at the time of the earthquake in the USArray (excluding ANSS backbone stations and GSN stations, which are represented by a diamond symbol) and colored by network. Blue lines are major rivers. Thin black lines are state boundaries and thick black lines are national boundaries.

Regional map view
Network Legend
 Transportable Array (TA)
 UC San Diego (AZ)
 CalTech (CI)
 ANSS backbone stations (US)
 Global Seismograph Network (IU)
 Lamont-Doherty Coop Seismic Network (LD)
 POLARIS Network (PO)

Regional satellite view

The red marker denotes the earthquake epicenter.

Detailed terrain view

The red marker denotes the earthquake epicenter.

Waveforms

You may view plots showing this event as recorded by USArray instruments:

3 components recorded by HDA, the closest USArray station to the event:

Latest monthly deployment map

Every arrival station waveforms

View waveforms from any station* that recorded arrivals for the event by entering the station code below (e.g. 109C) and clicking the 'View waveforms' button:

* – If waveforms are filtered, the filter type is listed on the image

Current seismic activity measured by USArray

Click the link below to observe an interactive map of earthquakes recorded by the USArray deployment:

Further information

Learn more about the Array Network Facility (ANF) component of USArray, the USArray experiment, the EarthScope project, and the Incorporated Research Institutions for Seismology (IRIS).

Share this page

If you find this page useful, please share it: Share/Bookmark